School admission appeals

If your application for a place for your child at a Trafford school has been refused, you have a right of appeal against this decision, however, there are limited grounds on which a panel can allow an appeal under infant class size legislation (with the exception of Seymour Park Community Primary which has its own arrangements). The only three grounds for allowing your appeal are set out within the appeal form and the primary school explanatory booklet.

All Primary Schools

Trafford’s Democratic Services Team administers appeals for all Trafford Primary Schools and appeal forms and the explanatory booklet can be downloaded here:

Primary Schools (Community, Voluntary Controlled and Academies)

Seymour Park Community Primary Schools

Voluntary Aided Primary Schools (also known as Church Schools)

All Primary Schools – Year 3 to Year 6

All Primary Schools Explanatory Booklet

Appeal timetables

Community Primary Appeal Timetable (including St Matthew’s C.E. Primary School)

How to appeal

Secondary Schools

Trafford's Democratic Services Team administers appeals for the following Secondary Schools. Appeal forms can be downloaded here:

Explanatory booklets

The following Secondary Schools administer their own appeals:  

  • Altrincham College of Arts
  • Altrincham Grammar School for Boys
  • Altrincham Grammar School for Girls
  • Ashton-on-Mersey School
  • Blessed Thomas Holford Catholic College
  • Broadoak School
  • Loreto Grammar School
  • St. Ambrose College
  • St. Antony's Catholic College
  • Urmston Grammar School
  • Wellacre Academy
  • Wellington School.

If you wish to appeal for any of these schools you must contact the school direct.

Appeal timetables

The timetable for appeals for Lostock College can be downloaded here:

For all other schools the timetables will be available on the relevant website.

Contact Details

Democratic Services
Trafford Town Hall
Talbot Road
M32 0TH

Telephone: 0161 912 2798